These turned out really well! I tweaked a gingerbread cookie recipe from Bob’s Red Mill. Their recipe just says to use their generic gluten-free baking blend, but I wanted to figure out individual flours and also add in a bit more spice. I was interested in trying some buckwheat flour for gingerbread and I’m liking the result.

psx_20161215_131955

GLUTEN-FREE VEGAN GINGERBREAD COOKIES
adapted from bobsredmill.com

Dry Ingredients
180g buckwheat flour
150g sorghum flour
120 corn starch
150-165g organic cane sugar (original is 165g but I prefer them with a bit less)
1 tbsp ground cinnamon
1 tbsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground cardamom
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 tsp baking soda
2 tsp xanthan gum

Wet Ingredients
170g vegan margarine (I used Earth Balance)
180mL molasses
2 tbsp plant milk

The method is on the original recipe page, just replace their butter with the vegan margarine. I recommend following their tip to roll between two pieces of parchment paper, and I also recommend to dip your cookie cutter in a bit of flour between every use or it might pull some dough out because it is a sticky recipe. I also don’t remove the cut-out cookies from the parchment paper to transfer to the baking sheet; I simply remove the excess dough then just take the whole parchment with the unbaked cookies and put it directly on my baking sheet. Works just fine and it’s way easier.

For the icing, I made half of this super simple aquafaba royal icing recipe: http://theblenderist.com/vegan-royal-icing-aquafaba-recipe/

psx_20161215_132056

