I’ve noticed a while ago that my digestion issues flare up a bit when I eat sesame seeds and tahini; not as much as with gluten, but enough to make me want to remove them from my diet. They’re not very prominently featured, so it’s not much of a problem. The exception though is hummus, which uses tahini.

I tried making it just using miso paste, but it was rather dry and acidic. So, when I remembered vegan sour cream was a thing, I decided to try and incorporate it. It really helped with the texture. I’m liking the result, and it also passed a hummus taste-test with a friend. This hummus is the one in the picture above.

If you don’t keep sour cream and/or miso around the house, I’ve also got a different recipe using soaked nuts as the fatty component. It also doesn’t use any added oil. The nuts need to be either soaked overnight or boiled for 10 minutes, so that they soften up and help achieve a creamier texture.

 

TAHINI-FREE SOUR CREAM MISO HUMMUS

250g cooked garbanzo beans / chickpeas
3-4 tbsp aquafaba (liquid leftover from cooking the beans; water also works)
2 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp dairy-free sour cream (I use Tofutti brand)
1 tbsp miso paste
1 tbsp olive oil or sesame oil
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp cumin
1/8 tsp salt

Put everything in a food processor; process until smooth. Keep in the fridge.

 

TAHINI-FREE OIL-FREE HUMMUS USING NUTS

250g cooked garbanzo beans / chickpeas
30g raw nuts (walnuts, cashews, etc.), boiled for 10 minutes or soaked overnight
4 tbsp aquafaba (liquid leftover from cooking the beans; water also works)
3 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp salt

Put everything in a food processor; process until smooth. Keep in the fridge.

