I’ve been wanting to make my own pancake mix for a bit, after using a commercial one a few times (to make rice cooker pancakes mostly). I thought, “I keep this variety of gluten-free flours at home, it makes to no sense to buy a mix on top of that.”

My requirements were: no xanthan or guar gum, I don’t use them often enough anymore to keep them around; and no adding fat during cooking, so no oil or butter or whatever else, I don’t want to use up calories there if I don’t need to. I knew it was possible to make it without added fats because the commercial one I used did it without fat. They only require a flax egg and milk. That was my goal.

I googled around for recipes, but they were always either using a commercial gluten-free blend with gum in it (side note, can you really call it “making” your own gluten-free mix if the flour blend — the actual problematic part — is made for you? Why make a post basically saying “go buy a mix and follow a normal wheat recipe”?), or they added gum themselves to their recipe, or butter/oil when mixing for cooking. Not even talking about the non-vegan ones with all the buttermilk and eggs. So, I mixed together all the knowledge I gathered from those searches and from by own baking experiments, and decided I’d use four flours so that the variety would ensure a better texture. I did a few tests with different amounts of each, and this is my favourite one. The finish has a sort of “whole grain” taste, due to the brown rice flour. Personally, I like it, but it might be less popular with people who prefer white bread and rice to brown.

**Important**
This mix relies on sweet rice flour (aka glutinous rice flour) for the elasticity. That’s why it doesn’t use gums. Sweet rice flour is made from sticky rice (glutinous rice), it is different that white rice flour and they are not interchangeable. I would say this is the backbone of the mix, it wouldn’t work the same without.

GUM-FREE GLUTEN-FREE VEGAN PANCAKE MIX

200g brown rice flour
160g oat flour (from gluten-free oats)
100g tapioca flour
100g sweet rice flour
50g sugar
1 tbsp baking powder

Put it in a big container and shake it a lot to mix together. (Or whisk it in a big bowl like a well-mannered person, boo.)

For cooking (gives the amount in the picture)
140g pancake mix
140mL milk of choice
1 tsp vanilla extract or other
1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp water, left to sit for about 10 minutes to gel up)

Mix milk, extract, and flax together. Add the wet mixture a little at a time to the dry, mixing after each addition; this ensures less clumps overall. Cook on skillet on low-medium heat. I use a non-stick skillet and don’t oil it, there’s no sticking issue. I spoon the batter on the warm skillet and use the back of the spoon to even it out into a round shape.

The pancake mix will give you about four of those batches.

